top of page

Bazlow- The Future


Photo by Lloyd Lenox

To describe Bazlow’s music is somewhat difficult. Picture J Dilla, mixed with a little bit of 9th wonder and a very small hint of Badbadnotgoodthen. Combined that with a dreamlike feeling, add a couple of flashbacks, EXPLOSIONS, and Morgan Freeman's voice.

Ok so maybe that's not the best way to describe his music and I might have put one or two things in there that may or may not fit with the rest. Although it's hard to describe his exact sound, it's easy to describe how it makes you feel; at peace. Let me explain, his music is a symphony of beautiful sounds and raw emotions dipped in a dream-like feeling. Bazlow creates his own world, and his own paradise through his beats and pulls the listener deep into his mind and heart. On these beats Bazlow leaves nothing behind. Every song is self-reflection, every song conveys a feeling you can relate to. It’s like he took his raw emotion and converted it into sound, but it’s not overwhelming, it’s peaceful.

It’s deep, it’s dark, it’s moody, it’s Bazlow.

Well, you might be wondering...who is BAZLOW?

Bazlow is a 23-year-old producer from New York, but who is Bazlow really?

I'll let his friend Logan explain, "Bazlow is kind of an anomaly. On the surface, he's a kind of goofy, smiley guy but, the man is an artist with brainwaves ever flickering to the beat of his own drum. His reserves-ness truly dissipates when you listen to the senses of longing, frustration, and bliss that projects like detachment paint."

He got his start unintentionally, "One day a friend of mine who made music was like, "Hey you wanna produce an album for me." I had never made a beat in my entire life but I was like, "Yeah, I'll do it." I didn't really know what I was doing, I just jumped in. Luckily his brother, an amazing producer/artist and now sound engineer helped him out. "He taught me everything I know, from how to use the programs to certain techniques and over time, I developed my own technique and ways but he gave me my foundation."

Photo by Lilly Stremshow

Just how he learned to make music he developed his sound the same way, by being a student. Bazlow’s sound began as a recreation of the music that influenced him. People like Knxwledge gave Bazlow his foundation then from there he developed his own sound. "The way I see it, you take what they give you and create your own little thing and that's what makes it special.”

And that's exactly what he does, "People want to hear what the rappers are listening to but beat makers want people to feel what they are going through and that's what I wanna do, I’ve dealt with a lot in my personal life like dealing with anxiety, depression and so on. I try to put that into a musical format, and I try to put what I’m feeling into beats so others can feel what I’m feeling.

You can see this in his tapes. "Each tap of mine is formatted in a certain way. Impassioned dealt with how I'm both passionate and dispassionate to make music. Habits & Patterns dealt with my habits. I've smoked weed, and cigarettes, I've done very addictive things. The patterns part is what I've been through in life like relationships and stuff. The Baz Batches are like a homage to Dilla with his batches of beats. They are like my throwaways but since they hold such a very special place in my heart, I still want the public to hear them.”

And Baz hasn’t stopped. He has 3 more projects, each one different for the last but with the same Bazlow sound.

Bazlow, I think, is the future of beat making. He’s bringing feeling back to music and creating music that will stand the test of time. This is not the last time you’ll hear about him.

 

Bazlow SoundCloud --- https://soundcloud.com/bazlow

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page