top of page

Jaye Newton, Ellenwood's Very Own

So here we are, in an era where every rapper on the radio is singing and mumbling. Every lyric is about drugs and being high and every beat is ... well, the beats are pretty addictive but despite that, if you're an old school hip-hop head, the rap that you knew and loved is gone. No more Mos Def and Talib Kweli, it's Uzi and Boat now. Your rap music is like that one bad bitch you knew in high school. It's been a couple years and she's had a couple kids, long story short, she doesn't look the same. But at last, before you say the catch phrase every middle aged man that still wears a super long white tee air forces says let me stop you, hip-hop isn't dead. How can I prove that? Well, let me introduce you to an artist who's gonna change the way you view today's rap music.

His name is Jaye Newton, a 21-year-old artist from Ellenwood, Georgia.

Jaye is a classic reinvented and refreshed. He gives you this Outkast/ Luda feel that doesn't come across as boring or outdated. He's the *insert your favorite old school rapper* of his time. He doesn't sound like your favorite old school artist but what I'm saying is he is or will be the "new" big thing coming out of the A.

The first time Jaye rapped was in a talent show in the 4th grade. "My homie Theo was like, "let's be in the talent show." I wrote my own rap and we actually won. I remember being on the stage and basically getting a high from it." He recorded his first rap at the age of 13 and released his first tape when he was in 9th grade, that's when his love for rap grew serious.

“People my age weren't putting out mixtapes so my class started to get behind me because they saw it was quality music, at the same time I was going against people who were in 12th or 11th grade and even they started listening to my music and started fucking with it. I released 4 projects in high school but it wasn't until college, where I released A Quarter Till 9, that I started to get noticed.”

Jaye is about to drop two projects, a small ep with five or more songs, including his newest release Salsa Witcha Momma, and an album. The ep will have more of the summer feel you hear on Salsa Witcha Momma while the album is going to have a sound influenced by a funk/neo-soul. That sound is typically not explored by rap artist of this era. I've had the opportunity to listen to some songs from his new album and let me just say, it is nothing short of amazing. Jaye is riddled with talent and is bringing a new Atlanta sound to rap that is much needed and was very missed.

Compared to a lot of artists out now Jaye lives and breathes his message of individuality. From his music to the way he presents himself, Jaye transcends the misogynistic attitude rap is notorious for. He also doesn't really cuss in his music. "I want everyone to be able to enjoy to my music, young and old. That can't happen if it's filled with cuss words." That's what I love about Jaye the most, everything about him is different. He doesn't look or act like your standard Atlanta rapper and doesn't sound like it either. Jaye is in a way, representing the sound and people in our city that don't get a lot of shine. He's a role model and I'm really excited to see what he has up his sleeve next.

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page