top of page

The Rise of KommOz


 

Here’s a quick question

When you are at your lowest point what do you do? Do you turn your scraps into gold or do you cry about your losses?

Truly there is no one out here that has turned more pain into gold than Tobias aka KommOz. I didn't know much about him before our interview but what I did know is that he is going to be famous. You see there are three things about KommOz that I think you should really pay attention to.

1) His bars

2) His work ethic

3) His story

At the age of 17, this Atlanta-based artist has been through a lot in the last few months and in his life in general. He was put up for adoption at 9 months along with 8 siblings that he never met.

He was kicked out of high school his freshman year and went to an alternative school where he was eventually sent to a 5-month military school. When he got back, his adopted father moved without him, basically leaving him in an empty house with no food and a lease that was ending in two weeks.

As KommOz explains, "I ended up staying with a coworker of mine for 3 months. Unfortunately I wasn't welcome there for long ; so I had to leave, which is how I get to my story now. My auntie said if I have the money she can put me in a motel for a week. So in that 55 dollars a night , cigarette smelling motel I broke down,I cried. I didn't understand why my dad didn't love me. I didn't know why no one cared about my situation, but I picked myself up and did the only thing I could do; write music. I wanted to record so bad. I knew I had to do this song. It was something about it. So I walked an hour and a half from my motel to my sound engineer's spot and recorded it. Next thing I know he comes up to the motel and we shoot a video . Legendary day, now my video is on Elevator with 4K views and still rising."

Why am I telling you this? Well, I want to prove a point. When it comes to KommOz he didn't and doesn't let his circumstance determined his future. KommOz in so many words basically says "fuck what is happening; I gotta make it." It's this determination combined with his talent that will push him to the top. I think this is an important thing to say because whether he knows it or not he is an inspiration to someone in his situation or worse. He's an inspiration to me, to be honest. That's why I love rap! Just by being themselves these artists unintentionally inspire others.

But let's get into how KommOz got started.

He started rapping in middle school because of Kendrick Lamar saying, "I was in middle and I couldn't play sports, I had asthma , and I didn't care about any of my classes because I knew they wouldn't make me millions, and around this time in 2012 Kendrick Lamar dropped Good Kid Mad City. I said to myself "if he can do it so can I!" He started to get really serious about rap in 7th grade and started to, as he says "put love" into his music in 2016.

He recently joined a group called Luz which is kinda like Odd Future and T.D.E. The group is comprised of a Malik Miller an Atlanta rapper, producer, photographer, an amazing artist, promoter, and two creatives. You can find all their Instagram's/websites below. KommOz is the newest member of the group but is already making waves.

So far he's released three songs: Durty, Motives, and Hotel ,which you can listen to by clicking the names of the songs. KommOz's music reminds me of something KINDA off ASAP Ferg's newest project; the beats go hard and the verses are tough. Motives has an addictive hook followed by some killer flows and impressive bars by KommOz and Malik Miller. Y'all I could try to explain but you just have to listen to his music and it will honestly speak for itself. This artist , just like many of the ones I feature on this blog, is doing things that are completely different from what we hear today. Like I've said before, it's just super cool that these artists ,who are so young, are making their own sound. The aren't following anyone they are loving the craft and producing what feels right to them. KommOz, like I said, is turning his pain into diamonds. His music is coming from a part of him that is real and you can feel that. There is passion. If you've lost faith in rap listen to him and it'll be renewed, I promise.

K O DOUBLE M O Z

remember the name.

You can follow KommOz here

You can also check out everybody at Luz by clicking the following links

@otrzapp

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page